Naina


Tell us a little about yourself.
I have about 3 friends but I'm a massive people person. I like to play with other people's dogs, cats and babies. Being in bed is my natural state of existence but I never manage to fall asleep easily. Beautiful bathrooms are where I feel most at peace.

What are you up to these days?
I'm currently editing my graduation project. It's a story about the mismatched friendship between an old lady and a young girl. It's about a lot of little things and nothing at the same time. It deals in bits with self propagated gender roles by Indian women.

What's your film inspired by?
It's inspired in part by my grandmother who discovered her independence for the first time at the age of 75. It's also inspired by how it feels to be a young woman in Delhi. How lonely and isolating the city can get when you're feeling out of your element.

What did you want to be as a kid?
I wanted to be a popstar. My father was in the merchant navy and I remember we were docked somewhere in Africa and this guy came to the ship to sell us pirated DVDs. I bought Britney in concert at Vegas. When I watched the Slave4U performance where she commands the stage with a python wrapped around her neck, I thought to myself, this is my destiny.

Tell me about your favourite holiday of all time.
Our summers growing up were really interesting because of my dad's job. We travelled extensively through coastal South America, Africa and Europe, spending twenty days at a stretch sometimes in the middle of the ocean. My memories are overwhelmingly blue and tropical.

Tell us about your best friend.
My best friend is a really strange, really funny guy who is one part litigation lawyer and one part fashion killa. He's dealing with LGBTQ rights and 2G scams by day and talking about Kenzo and Margiela by night. You could follow him, he'd be delighted (@bastardgoats)

If you had all the budget in the world, what kind of film would you make?
Well a friend of mine who belongs to a small coast town outside Goa has a fantasy of making a Gangster film based on mafia operations in the dockyards he grew up around. I think I'd love to make that with him.

Top 3 favourite films?
Only God Forgives
Breathless
In The Mood For Love

Whats a typical day in your life like?
I'm currently transitioning from student to professional so it's not very dramatic. I'm usually up by 8:30 am, fighting procrastination and giving myself pep talks on efficiency and "following my dreams". The rest of the day goes into editing, finding things on the internet and trying to map out the next stage of my life. Nights usually follow the same tone, minus the editing.

What's your personal style like?
Temperamental

What did you eat for breakfast?
Coffee Banana Milkshake + Boiled Eggs & Toast

Current favourite Instagram account?
freshmilhk. It's just people squeezing slime and mixing paints together.

Current trend you love?
Eyebrows

Current trend you will never get on board with?
Armpit hair

Spirit animal?
Dolphin

Last (great) book you read?
The Diary of Anais Nin

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?
Beach anywhere. Maybe Bali. I'd like to study architecture & interior design in Bali in another life.

What are you looking forward to?
Hmm... I'm looking forward to taking control of my life and putting myself out there this year. In the past I've been really shy about my work but off late I've been waking up and thinking Nains your time is finally here.

All photos by Tenzin Lhagyal.

Related Posts

  • Lumri
    Lumri

    Tell us a bit about yourself.I’m an ambivert; I’m shy but also outgoing. I love cats, independence and sleep. I love ...

  • Kruttika
    Kruttika

    Tell us a little about yourself.I'm a crazy cat lady who's very bad at human-ing. I'd pick spending time alone over s...

  • Abhineet + Emilia
    Abhineet + Emilia

    How did you meet?We both used to work at Wieden + Kennedy. Emilia in Shanghai and Abhineet came back from the US to j...



Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out